Peep Jousting

*Disclaimer: Some images may be disturbing. Peeps were harmed during the making of this post.*

I’ll be honest. I’ve been a bit stressed lately. The other day I was feeling super anxious: my mind running wild with work I needed to do, emails I had yet to send, and craving sleep I couldn’t get. So, what better way to escape and enjoy myself than with a good old-fashioned peep jousting tournament?! ‘Tis the season, after all.

Peep Jousting?? Let me explain…

Step 1: Buy peeps and toothpicks.
Step 2: Ask for paper plates when you order Chinese take-out because you forgot to include those in step 1.
Step 3: Stab peep with toothpick Equip each peep with a toothpick sword.
Step 4: Microwave and let the games begin!

Needless to say, I had a peep jousting tournament the other night with my good friend Joe – and it was so much fun! After fueling ourselves with local Chinese take-out, we prepared the scene and let the games begin.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

It was an ugly battle. A fight to the death. Pink vs. Blue. Me vs. Joe. 10 seconds in the microwave became 30 seconds, which became 45 seconds… it wasn’t a pretty sight.

You may be wondering, what does peep jousting have to do with promoting body positivity and acceptance? How does it relate to health and happiness? I’m not quite sure about the first part, but it is important to take some time for yourself and have fun, especially in times of stress. Life tends to sneak up on us, and it can get pretty overwhelming. Thus, spending time with good friends, like those who don’t mind when you get marshmallow all over your hands and won’t judge you for starting into a microwave while laughing maniacally, can make all the difference. Not to mention, peep jousting is wicked fun and I highly recommend you make it a part of your Easter traditions. (Plus, it’s a good excuse to eat sugary marshmallow peeps. Win-win, right?) So cheers to health and happiness! And cheers to living in the moment, feeling free to be yourself.

Also, I did manage to learn a few very important lessons through this experience:

1. Marshmallow peeps will not explode in the microwave (at least ours didn’t).
2. They still taste good (even better in my opinion) after being toasted for 30-45 seconds.
3. Eating 5 peeps in a row will give you a slight sugar buzz, but it’s nothing 3 or 4 more can’t fix.
4. Time spent with friends, over good food and good memories, is invaluable. I’m so glad I could spend my Sunday night, the last before another busy and stressful school week, staring into a microwave and burning peeps with Joe.

FullSizeRender (5)
Joe: Professional Peep Sniffer

Be thankful for your friends and remember to live in the moment everyone. Dare to be dauntless and take some time to de-stress.  ♥

 

 

3 thoughts on “Peep Jousting

Add yours

  1. You go girl!! And Joe of course! You should do something everyday that makes you happy. It gives you a new perspective on your day and your life. Don’t be afraid to have some fun…after all it’s YOUR LIFE . Don’t worry about what others may think…sing like no one’s listening, dance like no one’s watching and do what truly makes YOU happy.

    Like

  2. I want to thank you for this post! I could really relate to this because I also have a hard time managing to find time to enjoy myself between my many responsibilities. It is so easy to just be go go go, until you crash. Doing something for myself is so important, but it doesn’t have to take long, even reading this was enough health is so important and reading this article (although a responsibility) was extremely enjoyable and made me laugh. I have never heard of peep jousting, but this is for sure something I am going to try and probably going to make a social. Wow, you are helping me with so much tonight!! 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

