Enjoying the Ride

“Life is a like a road trip. Enjoy each day and don’t carry too much baggage.” Easier said than done when you’re not the driver/navigator, you don’t have to pay for gas or tolls, there’s no traffic…you get the idea. Sometimes it’s hard to enjoy each day and live in the moment. Instead, we’re usually speeding to get to the next stop, steering out of control, or broken down on the side of the road. Too often we’re spending this road trip of ours stressed and overwhelmed. We waste time worrying about that which we can’t control. We’re either living in the past or focusing too much on the future.

roadtrip.png3

So how are we supposed to enjoy the ride on this road trip called life?

By slowing down and letting ourselves take it all in. By stopping to smell the roses and by appreciating the little things in life. Again, easier said than done, but absolutely possible. Hear me out…

My Road Trip

I’ve got six weeks left before I graduate college. SIX WEEKS. That also means I’ve got more essays, projects, and exams than I wish to count, not to mention everything in between. Plus, every weekend has me booked for the next two months and somehow I’m supposed to start preparing for life AFTER graduation? Right.

It should come as no surprise then, when I say my life is flying by and I’m missing it. I’m always so focused on reaching the next thing: finish this assignment, study for that test, read this, write that. Go to bed. Repeat. I consider myself lucky when I make it to the end of the week still standing.

– – – –

Can you relate? I know this struggle isn’t specific to just me. Everybody has stress. Many of us get so caught up in the road trip, we forget to stop and enjoy the ride. If I don’t start slowing down now and letting myself appreciate what each day brings, (especially when I only have six weeks left before “real life” begins!) I’m going to miss some great, once-in-a-lifetime memories! I’m going to miss wonderful times spent with wonderful friends because I’m too focused on getting to the next stop.

So here’s my logic: Our life’s road trip is the only we get, in the only body we have. Why not love and enjoy both? As one more step in my personal journey towards health and happiness, I aim to start slowing down and enjoying each day as it comes. Just as I don’t want to spend my life worrying about food and body image and health, I don’t want to spend my road trip constantly speeding through life, stressed and worried about what the next day might bring. I want to enjoy each day for the glorious gift it is. And since there’s no better time to start then the present, why not start now?roadtrip.png2

Therefore, starting today, as I begin a new week in a a brand new new month, I’m going to start slowing down and enjoying the ride. I know this won’t be easy. I won’t wake up and simply be care-free and live on a whim. But I can start by finding or doing something which makes me happy everyday, to start appreciating the day for whatever it brings, and not worrying about making it to the next.

Care to join me?

It’s time we all started letting ourselves enjoy this road trip, appreciating where we are and looking forward to where we have yet to go. Join me and we can enjoy life together! Every day this week I’ll be sharing what makes me happy. Whether it’s one of life’s simple pleasures, like a morning cup of coffee, or choosing to live for me (and maybe actually having fun), if it makes me happy, it’s worth sharing.

I’ll be sharing my road trip via Twitter. You can follow me @dauntless267 and share your own road trip adventures, too. (Plus, check out the other nifty articles and random things I share.) Don’t have a Twitter? Feel free to comment below what makes you happy and what you’re doing to slow down and enjoy the ride.

My message to you:
Be dauntless and do something for YOU everyday – it’s your road trip and you’re the driver.  It’s time we all started enjoying the ride, every single day. ♥

2 thoughts on “Enjoying the Ride

Add yours

  1. Your blog is really helping my confidence level. I’ve been thinking about doing something really different for a long time and now I might be ready to give it a try.

    Like

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

