My Zine Article: Dropping Knowledge & Truth

ZineArticle_Facts on Fat

Hello everyone! I hope you are all doing well and I am super excited to share my most recent class assignment with you all!

And here we go: To wrap up the semester, my Women’s Studies class is currently making a zine. what? Let me explain, because if you’re like me, you may have no idea what that is. (So you can imagine how I felt when I was first assigned to write this ‘zine article’ – PANIC!!)

Zine 101: It’s pretty simple, really. It’s like a magazine, but far more creative and radical. Zines are like DIY-magazines, typically made by one person or a small group of people who want to make an argument or share an idea. They’re not usually made for profit, and like magazines, topics can range from fashion and art to personal reflections and social injustices. Needless to say, they’re pretty unique.

Thus, this project fits perfectly within my Women’s Studies class, as we discuss the problems of weightism and learn about ways we can help end size discrimination. Naturally, I wanted to write about something related to health and size acceptance for my article. Originally called “Fat 101,” my intended ‘stick-to-the-facts’ article soon evolved into more of an argument and advocacy piece. Nevertheless, I would love to share it with you all and hear your thoughts on the misconceptions about fat and health I address here. 

I’ve posted a link to the PDF version below, as well as images of the actual pages. I hope you enjoy! I also hope to publish more of my end-of-the-semester assignments and essays in the near future. (Less than a month until graduation – almost there!!) 

ZineArticle_Facts on Fat

Zine pg1
Page 1
Zine pg2
Page 2
Zine pg3
Page 3

Keep it real, everyone, and keep your head held high. Dare to argue and advocate for what you believe, whether through a zine article like this or through everyday conversation. Your voice matters and your thoughts deserve to be heard. ♥

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

