It’s YOUR Story – Do you hold the pen?

“When writing the story of your life, don’t let anyone else hold the pen” -Unknown

That is the mission, the true purpose, behind being Dauntless. Life isn’t about being better than anyone else and comparing yourself to others. It’s not about trying to meet unrealistic standards and expectations. Dauntless is a lifestyle, a way of being.

It’s also a story – mine as much as yours. It’s about being the person you want to be and simply being yourself. The focus here is on YOU – your happiness, your health, your well-being.

This is YOUR story, too. You hold the pen.

It’s not selfish, either, because by loving yourself, you become more open and loving of others. You accept them for who they are, just the way they are, wherever they may be in their own journeys. Just as you want them to love and respect you, you love and respect them.

What about me?

me1I’ll be the first to admit, even 5 months into my own body positive journey, I’m not perfect. I’m not 100% body confident 100% of the time. In fact, I still struggle. That’s part of the reason I post here on Dauntless. It reminds me to be just that: Dauntless. Like you, I have good days and bad days. I have days when I find myself stressing over the little things, or returning to old habits. And yes, some days I still worry about how I look and tend to shy away from social settings.

And that’s okay! It’s part of the process…
because then I think of this blog and my personal values. I think of the quote above and realize I hold the pen here. I’m in charge of my own feelings and this is my story, my life. Just as I can choose to stress or let these bad days define me, I also have the power to turn the page and start something new. It’s part of being dauntless.

I’m still learning. I’m learning how to love myself and listen to my body. I’m learning to take a breath and relax, reminding myself to pause, take it all in, and seize the moment. Like you, I’m undergoing my own journey, writing the chapters to my story each and everyday.

And while I may not wake up each morning feeling absolutely beautiful or ready to face the day, while I may spend longer than necessary picking out my outfits and doing (and redoing) my hair/makeup, I am making progress. And I am happy with that.

Dauntless just happens to be the name of my story, or at least this chapter of my life. What’s your story? Do you hold the pen? Do you choose to let the bad days define you, or do you learn from them, choosing to turn to a new page and start fresh?

I will leave you with two final thoughts:

1. “The only person you should try to be better than is the person you were yesterday.” While the author remains in question, I couldn’t agree more. Don’t try to be better than anyone else, and don’t let your slip-ups and bad days define who you are. It’s your story. Make it so.

2. Slightly off-topic: See below for an incredible and super easy rhubarb banana bread recipe! I made it just the other day and with no refined sugar, no oil/butter, and whole-wheat flour, it’s a bread you can enjoy any time of the day! (Says the girl who has been known to eat cake for breakfast…)

But ultimately, remember: you hold the pen. This is your story. Should you have a bad day, or even resort to old habits, YOU have the power to turn the page and start fresh. You have the ability to be dauntless. ♥


bread3

And as promised…Rhubarb Banana Bread!! This sweet/bitter, greenish red stalk-like plant is a seasonal delicacy and I make sure to savor every bite. So, to kick off my first batch of the season, I made this rhubarb banana bread from a recipe I found on Pinterest. It whips up in no time, it’s healthy (what!?) and did I mention it’s delicious?

FullSizeRender (6)
The first harvest

Made with whole wheat flour, honey instead of regular sugar, a touch of allspice and cinnamon, and three bananas, it’s a filling, not-to-sweet summertime treat. 🙂

 

Find the recipe by clicking here or by visiting https://www.kimscravings.com/healthy-rhubarb-banana-bread/ Should rhubarb make its way into your local market or even your garden, whip up a loaf of this bread and enjoy!

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

